Preferred System

For me, I prefer Pathfinder. I’m fairly new to RPGs (and I only started GMing two months ago!) although I’m gaining an interest in the retro-clones like Swords and Wizardry, Labyrinth Lord etc. There’s also a copy of The One Ring on my shelf (which we’ll hopefully get to play at some point this year)

I’m hearing big things about The 13th Age RPG…a more streamlined version of D&D that’s currently being play tested.

What else would you recommend and why?

I absolutely LOVED Star Wars d20, because I could be an almost completely force-less Jedi (I threw all my skill and force commands into lightsaber dueling). The scope of classes and races was also terrific. It can be a little overwhelming – we had easily 20 sourcebooks being passed around the table at any given time – but that level of detail also made it much more immersive.

I liked Shadowrun, but if I had to do it again, I wouldn’t be a magic-user. I think the game is more loaded to the tech side.

I like to see what people make out of a game system. Every DM has some house rules, some way to explain how the rules are logical in his world.

But if I had to choose which one I prefer it would probably be d20. It’s not the best system out there, but I got attached to it.

I see RPG-Rules/Setting more as a tools for a painter.

If I have an idea for a RPG, then I start to think, what kind of system would emphasis the things important to me in this story.

My favorites Systems so far:

Mutant & Masterminds
Cinematic Unisystem (with rule-hacks for XP)
Unknown Armies
New World of Darkness

In the last year I tried some nice Indie Games

like:

Dungeons the Dragoning 40k 7th Edition
Eclipse Phase
Hellas: Worlds of Sun and Stone