[Interest Check] For New DMs and those who want to be: Looking Behind the Screen

DM: Looking Behind the Screen

Interested in DMing? Want to try it out, but unsure? Want to play and see behind the screen and how others do it?

I (and maybe some others) have the idea to run a table for new players and interested DMs who might want to dm themselves but are still unsure. See how other experienced DMs do it, why they prep what they prep, how their encounter balance works, how to pace and why you sometimes shoot the monk.

If you are interested post here :writing_hand: or write a pm :email: .

Some Info:

When? Either on a VALUE Friday or Saturday, depending when people want to.

What will I play? You can choose:

• Potions Eleven (A small but nice Heist, with a comedic tone)
  • When Mages Fall (An investigation into missing Mages)
  • The Waydown (Social with a bit of sneaking and fighting)
  • Cloaks and Shadows (Investigation and Mystery, while dodging the law)
10 Likes

I’m new to this place, but I’d love that! Always wanted to DM but it seems so daunting, so this sounds like a great idea.

4 Likes

I would also be interested - especially for VALUE sessions. :blush:

3 Likes

:vulcan_salute: Enthusiastic yes, generally available on the weekends if announced in advance. DMing first home game rn and would love some more live experience. Also interested in DMing open games if hobby pans out that way. :grinning:

2 Likes

When? On a V.A.L.U.E. Friday

What will I play? You can choose:

• Dvngeon Invictus (An ancient-greek/roman-themed dungeoncrawl full of riddles)
  • Written in Dragonborn Blood (Starts as a cultural scenario - ends as a Horror adventure)
  • Shore of Dreams (A very open scenario with divergent paths)
  • Weekend at Strahd’s (Escape a gothic castle, with a comedic tone)
4 Likes

Brilliant idea!

1 Like

It’s not. :slight_smile:

1 Like

When? 1.5-2 hours on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon at Pickwicks