Hey everyone! Newbie here!

Hey guys,

I’m Nicolas, new to the DnD world and already hoooooooked!!!
Last summer I went on vacation with my brother and his friends and they introduced me to the game. I had heard of it but never found someone to play with (my brother lives in another country) so this was my first time and I absolutely loved it. I decided to go for a spore druid and I’m often looking at my character sheet and my miniature figure that we all had made and I really miss it.
I will be moving to Vienna in a few months and I wanted to ask around if there is any book you could recommend so that I can get a better understanding of the overall gameplay. I only played once and everyone else was super experienced so they would help me out all the time but since I want to join a group eventually I was wondering what I can do to up my game…
Also: it might be a little early but let me know if your group is looking to “adopt” a new member. I’m going to move to Vienna in June or July (still depends on a few exams).
I was also wondering what language you all use while playing DnD? English? German?
The one time I played with my bro we went with English.

Stay safe everyone!

Hey :slight_smile:
Welcome to the community and (soon) to Vienna :slight_smile:

If you don’t already have I’d recommend to start with the basics (so the Player’s Handbook). As for “upping” your game, that will simply come with experience, though there are a lot of great youtubers that are worth a watch every now and then (Nerdarchy, How to be a great GM, Dungeon Dudes, … to name just a few)

I personally play in english usually, though sometimes I slip into german - usually when I can’t think of a word and I know that at least 1 of the others at the table know german too.