Austrian who prefers English

I’m relatively new to pen and paper RPGs (started in Neil’s group), but have played video game RPGs for ages. “The Elder Scrolls” series is probably closest - in terms of game mechanics - to D&D, but it’s always a very solitary way to play, and as somebody who loves board games I always wanted to try D&D, but didn’t think I’d find somebody in Vienna wanting to play in English. I clearly underestimated the number of geeky expats, living here. :wink:

I just bought the Pathfinder Beginner Box which uses a slightly simplified system than the actual game, but it’s good way to introduce newcomers to Pathfinder.

Oh, and as an Austrian my native tongue might be German, but I started to prefer the original English versions of movies/tv series/books/games once I stopped drinking the Kool-Aid and realized how poor dubbing, and translations in general, often are. Titles alone are often unbelievably cringeworthy.

I currently play Friday evenings and would like to add a group that plays weekend afternoons, so that sessions might be longer, or at least that it won’t be quite so late when they end.

[quote=“Philipp”]
I currently play Friday evenings and would like to add a group that plays weekend afternoons, so that sessions might be longer, or at least that it won’t be quite so late when they end.[/quote]

I hear ya! I’d totally prefer that too. :frowning:

Like Philipp says, we both play in a group together and if anyone’s considering inviting him to a group…what are you waiting for! :wink: He’s a really cool guy. Incredible English and totally committed to the game.

Because Ally mentioned books:
I love the Harry Potter books, have read each one at least twice and listened to the Stephen Fry audiobooks as well. Some of the movies are OK but the books are definitely better.

And despite loving the LOTR movies I still haven’t read the books, I know shame on me :blush: