About GMs for hire

Hi everyone!

So I’ve come across some people online who are Game Masters for hire. As in they charge money for sessions with them.

And I wanted to ask what the general opinion on this is. Just get a discussion about the topic going. What do you think, are pros and cons of a paid GM and would you pay for a GM who really knows what he’s doing?

Personally, I’m actually in favor of this being a thing. I’ve been GMing D&D 5e for 3 years now and played in quite a few campaigns. I even got to master a few one shots at Vienna Comic Con last weekend. And I think, GMs who really put effort into it actually deserve to be able to make a living with it. I’m seeing it as an art form that takes effort and a lot of effort and experience to master.

Also, if there’s anyone doing this already, especially in Austria, I’d be interested in your experience so far!

BR,
Komeran

1 Like

I completely agree. For me personally a GM is a sort of entertainer and if you are really good at what you do you should be rewarded. Though it always depends on the price.

You were at comic con? I was there aswell but had no time to play sadly :> .

2 Likes

I understand the arguments in favor of paid GMs but I personaly disagree. I would argue that it makes a step in the wrong direction in that it excludes the DM from the friends group and it means that the DM is not there to have fun himself. I fear that this will create wrong relationships in the relationships between players and DMs.
To simplify…I beliebe the DM should be a friend and player, not an employee.

2 Likes